3 °C Poiana Brașov
Imagini live Tur virtual Cazare Restaurante Check-In

European Football Championship (EURO / EC)

 width=Football is king-sport in most European countries. And so emerged the European Football Championship (Euro or EC), which is a soccer tournament that takes place every four years between national soccer teams of the states that are members of UEFA.

The European Football Championship was first held in 1960 and took place between 6 and 10 July in France. In the competition entered only 17 national teams, some big names including West Germany, Italy and England missing. Matches were played on the stadium Parc des Princes in Paris and Stade Vélodrome in Marseille.

Every edition other nation obtains the right to organize the European Football Championship. This nation is chosen by UEFA following a competition between several countries. To attend the tournament, , a total of 16 teams have to qualify in qualifying rounds.

These teams are divided into 4 groups, each of 4 teams. Each team in each group plays with each of the other 3 teams in the group, thus taking place a total of three games per team. The first two teams from each group qualify to the quarter finals. This is where the eliminatory system enters the scene, meaning the loser of each match is out of the tournament.


In the late ’90s, the International Football Association tried different methods for avoiding the team winning the penalty shoot-out. It is very unpleasant for any club to lose this way a game.

The methods consisted in ending the game in overtime, earlier than the usual 30 minutes; either when the first goal is scored (golden goal), or at the end of the first half of extra time when one team has the advantage that time scoreboard (silver goal). These experiments have been withdrawn pretty soon.

The golden goal was used in World Cup 2002 (South Korea-Japan), and the silver goal in the European Championship, in 2004 (Portugal).

In recent years, FIFA is considering to reintroduce the golden goal as teams play more like not to receive goals (in defence) than to score (in attack).

Most Euro trophies were won by Germany – three titles, followed by Spain, with two titles. The best result of Romania in the European Championship was the qualification in the quarters, in 2000. Romania has also participated in Euro 1984 and Euro 1996.

The Republic of Moldova did not qualify for the European championship ever, but the best ranking was 4th place in the qualification groups for Euro 2004 (penultimate).

Last edition of the Euro took place in 2008 and the host countries were Austria and Switzerland. The trophy winner was Spain. This team defeated Germany 1:0 by Fernando Torres’s goal in a fight with two Germans.
These days we are in full European Football Championship. The host countries are Poland and Ukraine.

Since June 8, our guests can watch Euro 2012 matches in: Adolescent Terrace Garden Club, Caffeteria – Hotel Alpin.
You can find below the program for the games.



sursa foto: